Society Pages – intercom

Category: Society Pages

Community Awards

The Society for Technical Communication has long recognized the importance of the hard work and commitment of its community members. Without their energy and enthusiasm, the Society would cease to be the largest, most effective, and most prestigious organization of technical communicators in the world. Below are the honorees this year for the Distinguished Chapter Service Award, Distinguished SIG Service Award, and Distinguished Service Award for Students. Congratulations to each of them and thank you for your service to the Society. Distinguished Chapter Service Award In 1988, the Society initiated the Distinguished Chapter Service Award (DCSA) to recognize exemplary dedication… Read the rest

Follow the 2012 Summit on Twitter

Even if you aren’t able to attend the 2012 Summit in Rosemont, you can follow it via Twitter—and even get a little taste of the conference to boot! Username @stcchicago will be tweeting throughout the conference, and both @stc_org and @STC_Summit will issue all the official announcements and information on speakers, preconference courses, and more. For a more in-depth view of the conference, check out the hashtag #stc12 for all tweets during the Summit. Attendees are invited to tweet from the conference using that hashtag, and anyone can view their comments by searching on the hashtag. The conference website (… Read the rest

Community Achievement Awards

The Community Achievement Awards (CAA) program recognizes STC chapters and special interest groups (SIGs) for exceptional accomplishments in meeting Society goals. The awards not only acknowledge that the obligations of a properly functioning community have been met, but that the winning communities have performed well beyond expectations. The awards program recognizes, in a visible and meaningful manner, communities that demonstrate outstanding, innovative, and sustained performance in advancing the goals of the Society. STC recognizes the following communities for their efforts. Communities of Distinction Chicago For your thorough and ongoing commitment to education in all its forms: for students and new… Read the rest

2012 STC Election Results

STC is pleased to announce the results of its 2012 election. (Note that results are not official until the Annual Business Meeting on 21 May at the Summit.) Voting concluded at 5:00 PM EDT (GMT-4) on 30 March. Of 5,015 eligible voters, 787 (15.69%) cast ballots. Congratulations to the winners, and a special thanks to all candidates for their dedication to STC and willingness to devote their time and energy to improving our Society. President Alan Houser (automatically succeeds from Vice President) Vice President Nicky Bleiel* 531 Robert Dianetti 237 Secretary Alyssa Fox* 416 Michael Opsteegh 345 Director (two spots)… Read the rest